How council elections work

Every four years you get to choose your local councillors and help to decide who runs Sutton Council.

Sutton borough is divided into 18 areas called wards.

Each ward has three councillors. That makes 54 councillors for the whole borough.

You get three votes to choose three councillors for your ward from the list of candidates.

The three people with the most votes in each ward become the councillors for that ward.

If a political party gets 28 or more councillors they get to run Sutton Council and decide its policies and services.

If no party gets 28 councillors the parties have to agree among themselves who will run the council. This is called “no overall control”.